LOVE

Elllll. Ohhhhh. Veeeee. Eeeeee. Love.  Why is it that four letter words are impossibly weighty?  Love.  It sounds so simple. To pick apart the layers of love would take more than a lifetime and the definition of the word would differ from lover to lover and from loved to loved.

photo (43)

The simplicity of the sound and vibration of the word love is misleading.  The frequency with which we use the word love in our everyday (myself included) doesn’t do justice for just how complicated the concept is.

I am still trying to figure out how to best love and be loved– how I want to give and receive love. Love is visceral, electric, soft, nurturing and sweet.  Love starts with the self and once we love ourselves, we are then ready to fully love another. It’s a foundation for which growth can occur; not just for the individual, but for the whole.

When I love fully and when that love is reciprocated fully, love permeates my entire physical body and stirs my insides like a ladle in a vat of soup: warm, spicy, satisfying.

Love is wonderful, even when it hurts. Love is wonderful, even when it’s muddled.  In my body, love feels expansive, tingly, cleansing and electric.  I LOVE that feeling.  I LOVE love.  When things get messy in love, whether with family, friends or with a significant other, two things are vital for me– I need to open my heart and I need clarity.

I have put together a yoga sequence to address both clarity and heart opening.  I threw in some of my favorite postures (postures that I feel a sense of ease in) to create balance given the intensity of a heart opening series.  This series focuses on back bends.  Back bends should be practiced with caution and only when your spine is warm and ready to move.  Backbending is contraindicated for high and low blood pressure, migraine and serious low back and neck injury.  As always, please practice with caution.

LOVE.

What does love feel like in your body?  

-acorn.

“When love exists, nothing else matters, not life’s predicaments, not the fury of the years, not a physical winding down or scarcity of opportunity.”  -Isabel Allende

“The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference.”  -Elie Wiesel

4 thoughts on “LOVE

  1. Heal+Restore

    What a beautiful sequence, thank you! I’m looking forward to trying it. My favourite loving yoga pose is savasana with my arms out wide in a cross, out on the garden patio looking up at the stars (yes, eyes wide open!) with my two desert dogs at my side. It reminds me that we’re all connected through nature, all breathing a similar rhythm if we slow down enough to take notice .

    Reply
    1. acorn Post author

      I love that! It sounds like you have a beautiful space for your home practice. The stars are such a lovely backdrop. My dog is also quite the yoga buddy- except he always wants to be in my lap. Supta baddha konasana is his fav– so much lap space!

      Reply
      1. Heal+Restore

        Ohhh, my dogs love camping out on my mat when I’m in downward dog, they think that space between my hands and feet is exclusive for them! Animals do make yoga fun and heartwarming, so long as you love them back 🙂

Leave a Reply

